Uncategorized

(001). Settling doesn’t feel so bad.

There’s something to be said about sleeping on an air mattress for almost a month. There’s even more to be said about practically wearing the same outfit every day, and hand-washing all your clothes because you don’t have enough to justify doing a load of laundry.

It’s an experience, for sure. Makes me feel like I’m in Thailand all over again, except without the exotic culture, low priced goods, and a couple of my closet friends.

In short, not as fun.

I can safely say that I am doing much better now that I have acquired my livelihood. The daunting pile of boxes doesn’t seem that bad, because they’re mine. Call me selfish, but my possessions being in my presence has gone a long way to making this little apartment finally feel like a home.

But then again, maybe that’s the smell of pasta on the stove, because I can actually cook now.

While it feels glorious to have my material possessions, getting them here was a hassle I never want to repeat. The company I originally went through contracted out my stuff to another company, that then contracted the delivery to, you guessed it, another company. It’s safe to say I didn’t know when my stuff would arrive, if it ever would. I was very much prepared to start all over, and I now have the duplicate utensils to prove it.

The company that delivered my stuff drove an eighteen wheeler to drop it off. I use drove in the loosest of senses, because they really didn’t know what they were doing. They had problems getting the vehicle near the loading dock, which is there for the purpose of large vehicles carrying large shipments.

But who am I to judge? These were obviously professionals. Professionals who had delivered a shipment moments prior to my own, and still had a hell of a time organizing their man power. Again, no judgement, just a vow to never go through that sort of chaos ever again. The fact that I’m pretty sure I could have unloaded my boxes in the same amount of time that four other people should do all the talking.

I don’t care about that anymore, because I am reunited with all my belongings. I have a bed, and a couch, and I no longer have to do every activity atop an inflated piece of rubber.

The official statement is that I’m spoiled, but I don’t care about that either.

2 thoughts on “(001). Settling doesn’t feel so bad.

  1. Spoiled? No. Sounds like you learned a valuable lesson in moving — ask if they are in possession from pick up to delivery. If not, find another company!

    Like

Leave a Reply

